network of new opportunities
University of Pretoria

University of Pretoria

The University of Pretoria (UP) came into existence in 1908 as the Pretoria branch of the Transvaal University College. The College became a fully-fledged university in 1930 and the colloquial name Tuks, or Tukkies, was derived from the acronym TUC for Transvaal University College. UP’s current facilities portfolio consists of more than 860 buildings and structures spread over 107 sites located on seven campuses that cover 1100 hectares of land. In the 108 years of its existence the University has produced approximately 250 000 alumni.

The University is a values-based, research-intensive university that equips its students to succeed in a rapidly changing world by providing students with inquiry-led training and learning opportunities. The University of Pretoria’s long-term Strategic Plan, UP 2025, captures the essence of a shared vision, aiming to sustain UP’s quality and relevance as a university that is firmly rooted in Africa, and to harness its existing and future potential for diversity. UP strives to ensure that it is recognised in the global marketplace of knowledge production. The cultural diversity of the South African population is reflected in the total student population of the University of Pretoria. There are 36 000 undergraduate and 13 500 postgraduate students of whom 57% are female and 61% are black students. International contact students total 5350 of whom more than half are engaged in postgraduate studies.  South Africa’s landmark social-political changes since 1994 have meant that the University has grown significantly, mainly to accommodate students who prefer English as medium of instruction.

The University of Pretoria has nine faculties and a business school:

• Economic and Management Sciences • Education • Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology • Health Sciences

• Humanities • Law • Natural and Agricultural Sciences • Theology • Veterinary Science (the only faculty of its kind in South Africa)

• the Gordon Institute of Business Science (GIBS).

The University prides itself on producing well-rounded, creative graduates, responsible, productive citizens and future leaders. Great emphasis is placed on student life and support as well as the advancement of sport, art, culture and music. For further information connect to


BRICS Network University ITG at the University of Pretoria

The University of Pretoria co-hosts the NU ITG Ecology and Climate Change with Rhodes University, South Africa. Activities at the University of Pretoria related to the theme will be administered through the University of Pretoria Centre for Environmental Studies (CFES) located within the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences. Eight environmental programmes at a master’s level are offered through the CFES and include taught-master’s (modules and a mini-dissertation) and a research master’s (by research dissertation only). The coursework master’s, such as the MSc in Environmental Ecology, comprise of six taught modules (120 credits) and a research mini-dissertation (120 credits). Further information on the programme and modules is available on the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences website accessed through


Contact information for the South African ITG members Ecology and Climate Change:


Thematic / University Coordinator (Rhodes University):

Professor William Froneman

Rhodes University

South Africa


Supporting University Coordinator (University of Pretoria):

Professor Paul Sumner

Director (Acting): Centre for Environmental Studies

University of Pretoria

South Africa



University of Pretoria Web-portal support:

Ingrid Booysen

Department of Geography, Geoinformatics and Meteorology

University of Pretoria